Home > Le festival > History

1948

THE WORLD’S FIRST JAZZ FESTIVAL. It was in Nice, and not America, that the world’s first ever jazz festival was born. The event took place for the first time in February 1948, at the end of the Carnival, at the opera house! Another venue, the municipal casino on Place Masséna (now no longer there), lent its Belle Époque decor to this spectacular first festival, and several of the concerts were broadcast live on French radio. The jazz greats were there, starting with Louis Armstrong, the uncontested star of the first edition, alongside other big names, such as Claude Lutter, Stéphane Grappelli and Django Reinhardt. On the closing night at the Hôtel Negresco, the party went on until dawn, ending with a feverish jam after song recitals by Suzy Delair and Yves Montand. This first festival was a historic moment, and from that time forth, jazz had a strong following in France. Thanks to his tremendous talent and presence, Louis Armstrong revealed the beauty of jazz to the uninitiated. Thus, in 1948, Nice got wedded to jazz, although the union was followed by a 23-year separation, before a moving reunion.

1971 - 1972

THE REUNION AT THE THÉÂTRE DE VERDURE. The experience was not repeated until 1971, this time at the Théâtre de Verdure and the Jardin Albert 1er. Artists flocked to the capital of the French Riviera for the big comeback: Ella Fitzgerald, Pharoah Sanders, T-Bone Walker, Stéphane Grappelli, the Herbie Hancock Quintet, the Oscar Peterson Trio, Roy Elridge, John Lewis, Al Grey, Percy Heath, Connie Key, Dizzy Gillespie, Daniel Humair, Sonny Stitt, Cannonball Adderley, Charlie Mingus and the Max Roach Trio.

1974 - 1993

THE GRANDE PARADE DU JAZZ AT THE ARÈNES DE CIMIEZ. A complete jazz revival did not come until 1974, with the Grande Parade du Jazz, in the rustic setting of the Arèmes de Cimiez gardens. This brought a breath of fresh air to the festival, which saw tremendous growth under the leadership of Nice City Council and producer George Wein. Every summer, dozens of bands and over 200 musicians took to the various stages among the olive groves and Roman ruins for one big open-air party. Jazz’s biggest names performed there, including Stéphane Grappelli, Dizzy Gillespie, Art Blakey, Miles Davis, Fats Domino, Chuck Berry and Carlos Santana.

1994 - 2010

THE GRANDE PARADE BECOMES THE NICE JAZZ FESTIVAL. Without losing the Grande Parade’s festive feel, the Nice Jazz Festival showed a desire to break radically with tradition by opening up to a diversity of musical styles. This choice was met with the public’s overwhelming approval.

2011 - 2012

LIVE FROM THE JARDIN ALBERT 1er. The then Mayor of Nice, Christian Estrosi, made the twin decision to take over the running of the festival and bring it to the city centre. Forty years on, the festival returned to the Jardin Albert 1er and the Théâtre de Verdure, while Jazz Off took performances to neighbourhoods all over the city.

2013

THE REVIVAL YEAR. This expanded audience were there to see, among others, C2C, Earth, Wind and Fire, Ben Harper, Maceo Parker, Chick Corea and George Benson.

2014

A PRESTIGIOUS FESTIVAL IN A GREEN SETTING. The Promenade du Paillon opened in October 2013, and the Nice Jazz Festival was able to take full advantage of this enchanting setting. The Nice Jazz Festival and its fringe event, Jazz OFF, saw audiences of more than 45,000 people that year, for this open-air extravaganza eagerly awaited by all Rivierans. The Massena and Théâtre de Verdure stages once again welcomed artists of considerable stature, such as Richard Galliano, Keziah Jones, Ibrahim Maalouf and Joshua Redman, as well as living legends like the Gipsy Kings, Deep Purple and Dr John.

2015

THE NICE JAZZ FESTIVAL MAKES ITS MARK ON JAZZ HISTORY. The Nice Jazz Festival continued to receive the cream of the French and international music scene, with record attendance of more than 60,000 people at the main and fringe events combined. The patron of the 2015 festival was Jamie Cullum, an emblematic figure of the new generation of jazz artists, who shared the line-up with legends like Charles Lloyd, Kenny Barron, Cerrone, The Roots and Kool and the Gang. Fans of current music and great vocalists were not hard done by either, with Lauryn Hill, Ibeyi, Yael Naim and Benjamin Clementine.

2016

FESTIVAL CANCELLED. Following the terrorist attack on the Promenade des Anglais on the evening of 14 July 2016, the Prefecture of Alpes-Maritimes and Nice City Council took the decision to cancel the Nice Jazz Festival, which was due to commence on 16 July.

2017

THE NICE JAZZ FESTIVAL IS BACK. The emotion was palpable throughout the five evenings. The edition's patron, Herbie Hancock, opened the festival with a speech advocating peace and hope. All the artists shared with the audience a moment of strong emotion dedicated to the victims of 14 July 2016.
The programme included Ibrahim Maalouf, -M-, IAM, De La Soul, Deluxe, Youn Sun Nah, Abdullah Ibrahim & Terence Blanchard, Kamasi Washington, Mary J. Blige and many others, who attracted nearly 43,000 spectators. A new visitor record for the city.

2018

70 YEARS OF THE NICE JAZZ FESTIVAL, The biggest names came together at the Nice Jazz Festival. From Gregory Porter, patron of this year's festival and one of the most charismatic singers in today's jazz, to Randy Weston via Massive Attack, Rhoda Scott, Jack Johnson, Joshua Redman, Billy Hart, Seun Kuti, Orelsan, Baptiste Trotignon, Mélanie De Biasio, Gary Clark Jr, Avishai Cohen, Parov Stelar, Trio Rosenberg, LP… Although the opening night was cancelled due to bad weather and the safety of the site, over 40,100 people came to the five evenings of this special edition. Marking the festival's 70th anniversary, the Villa Masséna hosted an exhibition tracing 70 years of Nice's love for jazz, and Editions Gilletta published a book, "Nice Jazz, histoire d'un festival", by Daniel Chauvet, Gilbert D'Alto and Frederica Randrianome Karsenty.

Accueil > Le festival > Historique

1948

Le premier festival de jazz au monde. Mais oui, c’est à Nice, et non en Amérique, que le premier festival de jazz au monde a vu le jour. On célèbre cette année le 68ème anniversaire de cet événement qui eut lieu pour la première fois en février 1948, à la fin du Carnaval. Et c’est dans un lieu dédié à la « grande musique » qu’il s’est déroulé en partie : l’Opéra ! Un autre établissement, le Casino municipal, sur la Place Masséna, aujourd’hui disparu, a prêté son décor Belle Époque à cette première retentissante dont plusieurs des concerts furent retransmis en direct par la Radiodiffusion française. Il faut dire que les plus grands étaient là, à commencer par Louis Amstrong, la star incontestée de cette première édition, au côté d’autres vedettes : Claude Lutter, Stéphane Grappelli, Django Reinhardt. Lors de la soirée de clôture, au Negresco, la fête s’est achevée à l’aube par une « jam » torride après les tours de chant de Suzy Delair et d’Yves Montand. Ce festival a constitué un moment historique, le jazz pouvait désormais compter sur un vrai public en France. Par son immense talent et le magnétisme de sa présence, Louis Amstrong a révélé la beauté de cette musique à de nombreux profanes. En 1948, la capitale azuréenne aura donc célébré ses noces avec le jazz, même si cette union a été suivie par une longue séparation de 23 ans, avant d’émouvantes retrouvailles.

1971 - 1972

Les retrouvailles au Théâtre de Verdure. L’expérience n’est renouvelée à Nice qu’à partir de 1971, cette fois au Théâtre de Verdure et dans le Jardin Albert 1er. Pour ce grand retour, les artistes affluent dans la capitale azuréenne : Ella Fitzgerald, Pharoah Sanders, T-Bone Walker, Stéphane Grappelli, Herbie Hancock Quintet, Oscar Peterson trio, Roy Elridge, John Lewis, Al Grey, Percy Heath, Connie Key, Dizzy Gillespie, Daniel Humair, Sonny Stitt, Canonball Adderley, Charlie Mingus, Max Roach Trio…

1974 - 1993

La Grande Parade du Jazz aux Arènes de Cimiez. Mais il faut attendre 1974 et la Grande Parade pour assister à la pleine renaissance du jazz dans un décor champêtre, celui des jardins des Arènes de Cimiez. Le festival prend un bol d’air et connaît un formidable essor sous l’impulsion de la Ville de Nice et du producteur George Wein. Chaque été, des dizaines d’orchestres et plus de 200 musiciens envahissent les différentes scènes au milieu des oliviers et des ruines romaines. Une immense fête populaire en plein air. Les plus grands noms du jazz dont plusieurs aujourd’hui disparus, s’y produisent : Stéphane Grappelli, Dizzy Gillespie, Art Blakey, Miles Davis, Fats Domino, Chuck Berry, Carlos Santana…

1994

La Grande Parade devient le Nice Jazz Festival. Tout en préservant le caractère festif de la Grande Parade, le Nice Jazz Festival affiche sa volonté de bousculer les traditions en s’ouvrant à des courants musicaux diversifiés. Un choix plébiscité par le public.

De 2011 à 2012

En direct depuis le Jardin Albert 1er. Le Maire de Nice, Christian Estrosi, prend la double décision de gérer désormais le festival en régie directe et de ramener la manifestation dans le centre ville. 40 ans plus tard, le festival est donc de retour sur les pénates du jardin Albert 1er et du Théâtre de Verdure tandis que le Jazz Off s’invite dans tous les quartiers de la ville.

2013

L’année du renouveau. En 2013 près de 38 000 personnes ont assisté au Nice Jazz Festival, une fréquentation en hausse de presque 17 par rapport à 2011, avec entre autres, C2C, Earth Wind and Fire, Ben Harper, Maceo Parker, Chick Corea ou encore Georges Benson.

2014

Un festival prestigieux porté par l’écrin de la Promenade du Paillon. La Promenade du Paillon a été inaugurée en octobre 2013 et le Nice Jazz Festival peut donc rofiter pleinement de ce cadre enchanteur. Le Nice Jazz Festival In et son Off ont accueilli plus de 45 000 spectateurs qui ont assistée à cette fête en plein air attendue avec impatience par tous les azuréens. Des artistes de grandes envergures ont de nouveau foulé la scène Masséna et celle du Théâtre de Verdure à l’instar de Richard Galliano, Keziah Jones, Ibrahim Maalouf, Joshua Redman et des légendes vivantes telles que les Gipsy King, Deep Purple ou encore Dr John…

2015

Le Nice Jazz Festival, une forte empreinte dans l’histoire du jazz. Le Nice Jazz Festival a continué d’accueillir de nouveau le meilleur de la scène musicale nationale et internationale avec une fréquentation record avec plus de 60 000 personnes présentes pour le IN et le OFF. Le parrain 2015, figure emblématique de la jeunesse du jazz, Jamie Cullum, a partagé l’affiche avec des légendes telles que Charles Lloyd, Kenny Barron, Cerrone, The Roots ou encore le groupe Kool and the Gang. Les amateurs de musiques actuelles ou de grandes voix n'ont pas été en reste avec Ms. Lauryn Hill, Ibeyi, Yael Naim ou encore Benjamin Clementine.

2016

L’année de la consécration. L'année de la consécration. Le Nice Jazz Festival, reflète ce jazz d’aujourd’hui et de demain à travers une programmation éclectique Pour cette nouvelle édition, qui se déroulera du samedi 16 au mercredi 20 juillet, la fabuleuse Mélody Gardot, sera la marraine du Nice Jazz Festival et fera raisonner ses bonnes vibrations sur la promenade du Paillon. A l'affiche cette année, des stars planétaires comme Robert Plant, Youssou NDour, Massive Attack, Parov Stelar mais aussi Ibrahim Maalouf, Snarky Puppy, Brigitte, Avishai Cohen, Deluxe...