Home > Le festival > The specificities of the NJF

Nice Jazz, history of a festival

From Daniel Chauvet, Gilbert D’Alto and Frédérica Randrianome Karsenty.

Nice and jazz : a story that never stops reinventing itself for 70 years… In 1948, curtain riser at the Opéra with Louis Armstrong and the Quintette du Hot Club de France.

After a long eclipse, in 1971 and 1972, Nice installs with daring the new trends of jazz. The event as such a success that it’s becoming lasting : time of Grand Parade is imminent. During 20 years, in Cimiez, it is going to be party under the olive trees ! Following George Wein, from 1994 to 1997, is appearing a thematic line up for the first time. Mastered eclecticism and a plethora of regular stars but also promising innovator contribute to make the event a high-profile summer musical stage. From 1998 to 2010, producers are succeeding each other and a new battle between progressive and backward-looking persons is happening. Since 2011, the year when the festival is getting back to downtown, musicians’ guest list is impressive and the records for attendance are incredibly beaten.

That work is the story of a tremendous musical adventure, led by three passionate authors of a rare erudition. Collectors, professional and amateur photographers have given their precious records to revive hundreds of concerts and give the uniqueness of that festival. A festival which biggest merit is to have been able to, years by years, suggest, innovate, mix, reveal, gather, delight, enchant whole generations.

“Go to the jazz” is for a long time a tradition for inhabitants of Nice, a friendly meeting that cannot be missed because everyone comes here to gather and tell loud and clear that music is a place of freedom where each type of music, each tendency has its own place. And that is this wildly and joyful mixture of rhythms and colors, of sounds and euphoria that this book is tending to be the faithful echo.

The authors

Enlightened into jazz from the age of 10, Daniel Chauvet is a bass player. He played in clubs and festivals everywhere in France and rubbed shoulders with prestigious musicians, as Stéphane Grappelli, the Ray Charles Orchestra and the Raeletts. Columnist of jazz in a lot of regional magazines for a long time, he is for twenty years the local correspondent of the international magazine Jazz Hot.

Enlightened into jazz from the age of 10, Daniel Chauvet is a bass player. He played in clubs and festivals everywhere in France and rubbed shoulders with prestigious musicians, as Stéphane Grappelli, the Ray Charles Orchestra and the Raeletts. Columnist of jazz in a lot of regional magazines for a long time, he is for twenty years the local correspondent of the international magazine Jazz Hot.

Frédérica Randrianome Karsenty, journalist for the TSF Jazz Côte d’Azur, interviews all the passing musicians. She founds the pioneer blog Riviera Jazz Club. In charge of press, and then of production at La Ville de Nice, she holds since 2014 the position of director of the Nice Jazz Festival and modern music taking on the line up of the Nice Music Live during the year.

Contact

Jean-François Llanos, sales manager +33 (0)6 60 64 48 58 – +33 (0)4 92 07 94 80 - jfllanos@nicematin.fr
Éditions Gilletta•nice-matin ® 214, boulevard du Mercantour – 06200 Nice + 33 (0)4 92 07 94 94 - edgilletta@nicematin.fr www.editionsgilletta.com facebook.com/EditionsGilletta
http://www.editionsgilletta.com/node/1249

Technical characteristics

Date of publication : 16th of july 2018
Diffusion in France : sales in bookshops, newspaper stores and sales sites
24 x 28 cm – 176 pages – 200 pictures
English-French bilingual edition
Bound edition – FSC Papaer
Public price: 34,90 €
ISBN/EAN : 978-2-35956-112-8

Couvertue du livre Nice Jazz, histoire d'un festival

An eco-friendly festival

Gobelet éco cup NJF

Committed to a policy of sustainable development and environmental preservation in the context of its events, Metropole Nice Côte d’Azur has launched a local waste prevention scheme. Because individual actions must become collective, it is important for our city to set an example by making the sites it manages models of eco-friendliness, waste prevention and cleanliness. The scheme will cut the volume of waste generated by the festival by 80%.

A deposit that empowers

A deposit of € 1 is payable for each reusable cup. Customers can get their deposit back at any time, by returning their cup, or can keep it as a souvenir.

Other positives

less litter on the ground means less rubbish to clear up, collect, transport and process. This means that the human and financial resources allocated to these tasks can be reduced or assigned to other areas. Like every year, the City of Nice will distribute pocket ashtrays to keep the site clean. Sixty recycling points will be available to visitors around the festival site and surrounding area.

Accueil > Le festival > Les spécificités du NJF

Nice Jazz, histoire d'un festival

de Daniel Chauvet, Gilbert D’Alto et Frédérica Randrianome Karsenty.

Le jazz et Nice : une histoire qui ne cesse de se réinventer depuis 70 ans… En 1948, lever de rideau à l’Opéra avec Louis Armstrong et le quintette du Hot Club de France.

Après une longue éclipse, en 1971 et 1972, Nice installe avec audace les tendances nouvelles du jazz. Le succès est tel que l’événement est pérennisé : le temps de la Grande Parade est imminent. Pendant 20 ans, à Cimiez, ce sera la fête sous les oliviers ! A la suite de George Wein, de 1994 à 1997, on voit apparaître pour la première fois une programmation thématique. Éclectisme maîtrisé et pléthore de stars habituées mais aussi novateurs prometteurs contribuent à faire de l’événement une scène musicale estivale de tout premier plan. De 1998 à 2010, les producteurs se succèdent et on assiste à une nouvelle bataille entre progressistes et passéistes. Depuis 2011, date où le festival se réinstalle en centreville, la liste des musiciens invités est impressionnante et les records d’affluence sont littéralement pulvérisés.

Cet ouvrage est le récit d’une immense aventure musicale, mené par trois auteurs passionnés et d’une rare érudition. Collectionneurs, photographes professionnels, amateurs ont confié leurs précieuses archives pour raviver des centaines de concerts et témoigner de l’atmosphère unique de ce festival. Un festival dont on ne saurait assez dire qu’un de ses plus grands mérites est d’avoir su, au fil des ans, proposer, innover, mêler, révéler, rassembler, réjouir, enchanter des générations entières.

« Aller au jazz » est depuis très longtemps une tradition pour les Niçois, un rendez-vous d’amitié qu’on ne peut manquer car on vient ici pour, ensemble, dire haut, fort et loin que la musique est un espace de liberté où chaque genre, chaque courant a sa place. Et c’est ce mélange follement joyeux de rythmes et de couleurs, de sons et d’ivresses dont ce livre tend à être l’écho fidèle.

Les auteurs

Initié au jazz dès l’âge de 10 ans, Daniel Chauvet est contrebassiste. Il a joué dans des clubs et festivals partout en France et y a côtoyé des musiciens prestigieux, tels Stéphane Grappelli, le Ray Charles Orchestra et les Raeletts. Longtemps chroniqueur de jazz dans plusieurs magazines régionaux, il est depuis vingt ans le correspondant local de la revue internationale Jazz Hot.

Gilbert D’Alto a été successivement libraire, journaliste, homme de radio, pianiste et chanteur amateur, poète slammeur, comédien, brocanteur et programmateur de clubs de jazz. Il est aujourd’hui journaliste au Jazzophone, animateur sur Radio Agora Côte d’Azur et critique de musique et de cinéma à La Strada. Ses passions sont le jazz, le rock des 60’s et 70’s, le cinéma, la littérature… et le café noir.

Frédérica Randrianome Karsenty, journaliste pour TSF Jazz Côte d’Azur, interviewe tous les musiciens de passage. Elle fonde le blog pionnier Riviera Jazz Club. Responsable presse, puis de production à la Ville de Nice, elle occupe depuis 2014 les fonctions de directrice du Nice Jazz Festival et des Musiques actuelles en assumant aussi la programmation des Nice Music Live à l’année.

Contact

Jean-François Llanos, responsable commercial +33 (0)6 60 64 48 58 – +33 (0)4 92 07 94 80 - jfllanos@nicematin.fr
Éditions Gilletta•nice-matin ® 214, boulevard du Mercantour – 06200 Nice + 33 (0)4 92 07 94 94 - edgilletta@nicematin.fr www.editionsgilletta.com facebook.com/EditionsGilletta
http://www.editionsgilletta.com/node/1249

Caractéristiques techniques

Date de sortie : 16 juillet 2018
Diffusion en France : vente en librairies, maisons de presse et sites de vente en ligne
24 x 28 cm – 176 pages – 200 photographies environ
Édition bilingue français-anglais
Édition reliée – Papier FSC
Prix public : 34,90 €
ISBN/EAN : 978-2-35956-112-8

Couvertue du livre Nice Jazz, histoire d'un festival

un festival eco-responsable

Gobelet éco cup NJF

Engagée dans une politique de développement durable de ses manifestations et de préservation de l’environnement, la Métropole Nice Côte d’Azur a lancé un programme local de prévention des déchets (PLPD). Parce que l’action individuelle doit devenir collective, il est important que notre ville montre l’exemple en concrétisant l’éco-exemplarité, la prévention des déchets et la propreté des sites qu’elle exploite. Cette initiative va permettre de diminuer de 80% le volume des déchets sur l’évènement.

Une caution qui responsabilise

Chaque gobelet réutilisable fait l’objet d’une caution de 1 euro. À tout moment, chaque utilisateur peut récupérer sa caution de 1€ en rendant son gobelet, ou le garder en souvenir.

Les autres effets positifs

Moins de déchets au sol, ce sont moins de déchets à rassembler, collecter, transporter et traiter. Les moyens humains et financiers affectés à ces seules tâches sont allégés ou redéployés. Comme chaque année, la Ville de Nice distribuera des cendriers de poche pour préserver la propreté du site. 60 « Totems Tri-Propreté » seront à disposition des usagers sur le site et aux abords de la manifestation.